Reviews

9.6
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
10
Comfort
9.5
Property location
9.3
Facilities
9.6
Staff
10
Value
9.4

Reviews

    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    15 October 2017

    A tranquil rural visit

    Peaceful rural location. Generously designed separate guest accommodation with everything you could need. Excellent breakfast with home made bread and jams. Clean good sized pool with lovely countryside views. Many well signposted hikes in the area. Sonja was very helpful and kindly gave us her mobile number in case we needed it when we were out. A relaxing place to stay.
    Lynne
    gb

    Review score

    10
    1 September 2017

    The perfect place to unwind and relax!

    We loved everything!
    We loved Cantar do Grilo. It was tranquil and a perfect place to relax. The hosts could not have done more to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. Thoroughly recommend staying here.
    Paulo
    pt

    Review score

    8.8
    28 August 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    NATALIA
    pt

    Review score

    10
    25 June 2017

    Tranquil relaxation

    Nothing disliked; all of our needs - and more - were catered for.
    The accommodation is set in rural tranquillity, but, at the same time, the nearest town, Serpa, is only 15 minutes drive away - Serpa is a quiet town which offers many fine restaurants, sites of antiquity to visit, and. of course, several varied shops for the 'essentials'; as such, Cantar Do Grilo is perfectly situates for a holiday of total relaxation, or is equally ideal when used as a base for exploring the region. Cantar Do Grilo is a modernised building whilst retaining the charm of Alentejo rural houses. Our room had a large double bed, ample hanging and storage space, desk area, armchair and table, and a well equipped en suite bathroom. Out hosts had also thoughtfully provided a fan for those "hotter" times. The main access to our room was via the internal corridor, but a door also led directly to the outside for access to the front of the property (terrace, garden, etc). All of our room facilities made our stay very comfortable. Our hosts, Felix and Sonja, were very friendly, welcoming, and informative. Felix greeted us initially with a welcome drink and introduced to our room and the additional facilities offered. A well equipped kitchen (oven, grill, hob, refrigerator, cutlery, etc) was available for food storage and meal/snack presentation, which could be taken either inside or at the outside dining area (where we enjoyed our breakfasts). A separate large lounge was available, which was always cooler, and could be used to sit and relax, read, or watch TV. Outside was a splendid pool surrounded by a large relaxation area shaded by ancient olive trees. The property is surrounded by vast views of the Alentejo rural plains, and is an ideal site for nature lovers and bird watchers. After a very relaxing night's sleep and morning shower, we were served a most delicious breakfast on the outside terrace to the rear (West facing) side of the property as it provided welcome morning shade.
    Jose
    pt

    Review score

    10
    18 June 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    pt

    Review score

    10
    22 May 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Joao
    pt

    Review score

    10
    19 August 2016

    Tradition and modernity

    A perfect mixture of tradition and modern comfort. The swimming pool area and breakfast were amazing, just like the staff's hospitality. Truly recommend it to relax!
    marianargsantos
    pt

    Review score

    10
    4 August 2016

    Perfection

    Cantar do grilo is the perfect oasis in the middle of the "desert". Stunning surroundings, lovely pool, and beautiful interiors. Felix and Sonia are the prefect hosts, making you feel at home! A must!
    Luis
    pt

    Review score

    10
    27 July 2016

    Marvellous weekend

    - quiet place - excellent conditions - good breakfast - very kind owners - very clean place