Reviews

9.6
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
10
Comfort
9.7
Property location
9.3
Facilities
9.7
Staff
9.9
Value
9.3

Reviews

    Johan
    be

    Review score

    10
    9 September 2018

    Perfect place to enjoy the peaceful countryside

    Everything was perfect
    Very clean establishment with amazing views over the countryside
    Inês
    pt

    Review score

    10
    31 August 2018

    Tenho um novo sítio favorito. Voltarei, sem dúvida.

    I have a new favourite place. If you know Alentejo, you know how good this gets: middle of nowhere, a swimming pool, a small place with 4 double rooms (so it never gets too crowded). Excellent. What makes it perfect are Felix and Sonja, their reception, their caring of the place (everything is impeccable) and of the guests. I absolutely loved it. I'll definitely come back. What some guests could not like: the place is ~20 minutes drive from Serpa, and similar to Minas de São Domingos. But, there is a fridge you can use and a small kitchen available to the guests, where you can cook some meals so you won't even need to leave the place - which I found great.
    Nelson
    gb

    Review score

    10
    9 August 2018
    Great holiday retreat in quiet and relaxing Alentejo. The owners really know the area and suggested great places to eat and visit. They really go the extra mile to make you feel welcome, treating us almost as old friends!
    joris
    be

    Review score

    10
    4 August 2018

    Paradise found!

    Welcome to paradise! What a great place with a great pool! The owners Felix and Sonia are super friendly and make you feel at home as soon as you arrive. Excellent breakfast on the terrace with views towards the Alentejo countryside. The ideal stay If you look for peace and tranquility.
    doversole
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    26 April 2018

    Good sunny location

    Shower over bath. Too many steps. Wi-fi didn’t work on my iPad....it did everywhere else in Portugal and Spain.
    Location. Breakfast. Comfy bed. Kitchen facilities.
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    15 October 2017

    A tranquil rural visit

    Peaceful rural location. Generously designed separate guest accommodation with everything you could need. Excellent breakfast with home made bread and jams. Clean good sized pool with lovely countryside views. Many well signposted hikes in the area. Sonja was very helpful and kindly gave us her mobile number in case we needed it when we were out. A relaxing place to stay.
    Lynne
    gb

    Review score

    10
    1 September 2017

    The perfect place to unwind and relax!

    We loved everything!
    We loved Cantar do Grilo. It was tranquil and a perfect place to relax. The hosts could not have done more to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. Thoroughly recommend staying here.
    Paulo
    pt

    Review score

    8.8
    28 August 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    NATALIA
    pt

    Review score

    10
    25 June 2017

    Tranquil relaxation

    Nothing disliked; all of our needs - and more - were catered for.
    The accommodation is set in rural tranquillity, but, at the same time, the nearest town, Serpa, is only 15 minutes drive away - Serpa is a quiet town which offers many fine restaurants, sites of antiquity to visit, and. of course, several varied shops for the 'essentials'; as such, Cantar Do Grilo is perfectly situates for a holiday of total relaxation, or is equally ideal when used as a base for exploring the region. Cantar Do Grilo is a modernised building whilst retaining the charm of Alentejo rural houses. Our room had a large double bed, ample hanging and storage space, desk area, armchair and table, and a well equipped en suite bathroom. Out hosts had also thoughtfully provided a fan for those "hotter" times. The main access to our room was via the internal corridor, but a door also led directly to the outside for access to the front of the property (terrace, garden, etc). All of our room facilities made our stay very comfortable. Our hosts, Felix and Sonja, were very friendly, welcoming, and informative. Felix greeted us initially with a welcome drink and introduced to our room and the additional facilities offered. A well equipped kitchen (oven, grill, hob, refrigerator, cutlery, etc) was available for food storage and meal/snack presentation, which could be taken either inside or at the outside dining area (where we enjoyed our breakfasts). A separate large lounge was available, which was always cooler, and could be used to sit and relax, read, or watch TV. Outside was a splendid pool surrounded by a large relaxation area shaded by ancient olive trees. The property is surrounded by vast views of the Alentejo rural plains, and is an ideal site for nature lovers and bird watchers. After a very relaxing night's sleep and morning shower, we were served a most delicious breakfast on the outside terrace to the rear (West facing) side of the property as it provided welcome morning shade.
    Jose
    pt

    Review score

    10
    18 June 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    pt

    Review score

    10
    22 May 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Mário Andrade
    pt

    Review score

    10
    31 August 2018

    Perfection

    No negative aspects.
    We enjoyed everything about it. It is perfect to rest and get away from the world. The pool was amazing, rooms were clean and breakfast is also great. It is the perfect place to find yourself.